Soybean Crop Germplasm Committee By-Laws

<u>Name</u>

Crop Germplasm Committee (CGC) is a generic name for a specific national working group of specialists providing analysis, data, and advice about germplasm within a specific crop or group of related crops of present or future economic importance. In accordance with this convention, this committee will be named the Soybean Crop Germplasm Committee.

Function

The function of the Soybean Crop Germplasm Committee is to serve soybean commodity groups and provide expert advice to individuals or organizations such as the Agricultural Research Service (ARS), State Agricultural Experiment Stations (SAES), and others on technical matters relating to plant germplasm, its collection, preservation, and effective utilization.

Duties and Responsibilities

- 1. Develop a strategic overview of the total national scientific effort in the study and utilization of soybean germplasm and recommend cooperative approaches for improvements in the germplasm management system where needs are apparent.
- 2. Assess the adequacy of the USDA Soybean Germplasm Collection and make recommendations to appropriate governmental and private agencies for increasing the Collection via additional exploration, exchange, or acquisition.
- 3. Assess progress in soybean breeding and the role germplasm resources might play in improving traits of economic importance.
- 4. Suggest guidelines for the effective regeneration, distribution, evaluation and utilization of accessions in the USDA Soybean Germplasm Collection.
- 5. Provide a means for soybean scientists or commodity groups to voice opinions on needs for plant germplasm resources and their utilization to those individuals responsible for these areas at the national level.
- 6. Develop concise reports when requested on ongoing germplasm activities, resource needs, and action plans.

Membership

The Soybean Crop Germplasm Committee (Committee) will consist of 14 members. The curator, associate curator, and assistant curator of the USDA Soybean Germplasm Collection; a representative from the National Program Staff and a representative of the United Soybean Board will serve as *ex officio* members. All *ex officio* members will not have voting privileges and may not hold a Committee office.

The remaining 9 committee members will be elected to the Committee to represent various geographical and/or research areas as follows:

- 1. Private breeder, north
- 2. Private breeder, south
- 3. Public breeder, north
- 4. Public breeder, south
- 5. Pathologist
- 6. Nematologist, entomologist or pathologist
- 7. Physiologist, molecular geneticist, biochemist, genomicist, or cytogeneticis
- 8. Physiologist, molecular geneticist, biochemist, genomicist, or cytogeneticist
- 9. Canadian breeder/geneticist

In those cases where positions can represent more than one discipline the candidates will be selected to maintain a balance of expertise on the Committee. Interest in germplasm issues and willingness to serve can also be used as criteria for candidate selection.

Terms of Office

Committee members will be elected to 6 years for plant breeders and 3 years for other members. Terms will begin following the annual meeting held in conjunction with the Soybean Breeders' Workshop in February of each year.

Committee Officers

The committee shall have two officers, chairperson and vice-chairperson. The vice-chairperson will be elected to a two-year term. The vice-chairperson will become the chairperson after one term as vice-chairperson and serve for two years as chairperson. The duties of the Committee chairperson include, notifying members of meetings, chairing meetings, appointing members to standing sub-committees, assigning duties to the sub-committees, and other duties as necessary to fulfill the committee's responsibilities. The assistant curator shall record the proceedings of all meetings, maintain contact lists for all Committee constituent groups, coordinate annual elections, and assist the chairperson as requested.

Sub-committees

The Committee will have three standing sub-committees: Acquisition, Evaluation, and Operations. Members of the sub-committees and chairs of each sub-committee will be appointed by the chair for two year terms. Members of sub-committees may be reappointed to additional terms as long as they remain a member of the Committee. Changes in standing sub-committees must be approved by a majority vote of the Committee. Ad hoc sub-committees shall be established as needed by the chairperson.

Elections

Members will be elected in the following manner:

Year 1: Entomologist, pathologist or nematologist

Northern breeder, public

Canadian breeder/geneticist

Year 3: Southern breeder, private

Physiologist, molecular geneticist, or biochemist, genomicist, or cytogeneticist

Pathologist

Year 5: Northern breeder, private

Southern breeder, public

Nematologist or pathologist

By the second Monday of November of an election year, the vice-chairperson will send a request for nominations for each position for which the incumbents' terms expire the following February. These requests will be sent to those whose discipline and geographical areas are the same as the qualifications for the open committee position. All nominations must be received by the chairperson by the second Monday in December. If more than two nominations are received for any position, the vice-chairperson will send all nominations to the committee and each member will rank the candidates in order of choice. If a candidate receives a majority of the first choice votes, that candidate is elected. If not, the last place candidate is removed from the ballot and all ballots are counted again. In the second counting each ballot cast for the defeated candidate counts for the next choice candidate listed on the ballot. The process of eliminating the last place candidate and recounting the ballots continues until one candidate receives a majority of the vote. The ballots for this election must be sent by the third Monday in December and returned to the vice-chairperson by the second Monday in January. The chairperson will notify the newly elected members by the third Monday in January so that they may attend the annual meeting in February. The newly elected members will officially begin their terms after the meeting but will be invited to attend as observers.

Rule Changes

These rules may be amended by a majority vote (5) of the committee members. (Revised February 2019)