U.S. Citrus and Subtropical Products Research Laboratory

US DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE
Agricultural Research Service
South Atlantic Area

600 Ave S, N.W. (P.O. Box 1909)
Winter Haven, FL 33881

Phone: (941) 293-4133
Fax: (941) 299-8678

MISSION

The mission of the U.S. Citrus & Subtropical Products Laboratory is to:

  1. improve delivery of nutrients to the consumer in products from subtropical fruits and vegetables maintaining a high degree of nutrient quality, desirable flavor and textural quality, as well as adequate storage stability for required marketing channels and operations;
  2. use modern chemical, analytical and food processing techniques to obtain fundamental information about mechanisms by which internal compositional reactions of these commodities are changed through processing and storage and effects of such changes on available nutrients and desirable quality factors;
  3. develop new mechanisms, or modify established mechanisms for converting subtropical commodities into more desirable products;
  4. use biochemical, botanical and biotechnological techniques to control or slow ripening and early senescence of fruits; and
  5. develop new approaches for the conversion of fruit processing wastes into value- added products.

STAFF

Robert A. Baker, Research Leader
Telephone: (941) 293-4133, ext 120
email: rabaker1@concentric.net

Karel Grohmann, Supervisory Research Chemist
Telephone: (941) 293-4133, ext 105
email: grohmann@concentric.net
email: kgrohmann@juno.com

Philip E. Shaw, Supervisory Research Chemist
Telephone: (941) 293-4133, ext 117
email: pshaw@cris.com

Elizabeth Baldwin, Research Horticulturist
Telephone: (941) 293-4133, ext 119
email: ebaldwin@asrr.arsusda.gov

Randall Cameron, Research Biologist
Telephone: (941) 293-4133, ext 124
email: rcameron@asrr.arsusda.gov

Robert Hagenmaier, Research Chemist
Telephone: (941) 293-4133, ext 123
email: bobhagmr@aol.com

John Manthey, Research Chemist
Telephone: (941) 293-4133, ext 124

Kelly Alger, Physical Science Tech
Telephone: (941) 293-4133, ext 123

Deborah Ambrose, Secretary
Telephone: (941) 293-4133, ext 111
email: ambrosed@concentric.net

Veronica Cook, Biological Science Tech
Telephone: (941) 293-4133, ext 118, voice mail 201

James Jenkins, Physical Science Tech
Telephone: (941) 293-4133, ext 116

Frederick Ohsiek, Physical Science Tech
Telephone: (941) 293-4133, ext 118

Holly Sisson, Biological Science Tech
Telephone: (941) 293-4133, ext 112

Timothy Tillman, Biological Science Tech
Telephone: (941) 293-4133, ext 125

Stephen Ruthruff, Maintenance Worker
Telephone: (941) 293-4133, ext 122