GRIN Site Logo
Agricultural Research Service United States Department of Agriculture
ARS Home  About Us  Help top nav spacer Contact Us
Email this pageEmail this page   


Plant Germplasm
Animal Germplasm
Microbial Germplasm
Invertebrate Germplasm
 Germplasm Resources Information Network

Members - National Genetic Resources Advisory Council (NGRAC)

Re-chartered May 31, 2011, as a subcommittee of the NAREEE Advisory Board

Appointed Members

Scientific Members

Dr. Manjit Misra (NGRAC Chair)
Professor/Director of the Seed Science Center
as well as the Director of the Biosafety Institute for Genetically Modified Agricultural Products (BIGMAP) at
Iowa State University
(2nd Term, 2015-2017)

Dr. Paul Gepts
Professor of Plant Sciences and Geneticist/Breeder
Department of Plant Sciences, University of California, Davis

Dr. Jane K. Dever
Texas A&M AgriLife Research
(2nd Term, 2014-2016)

Dr. Karen Moldenhauer
Professor & Rice Industry Chair for Variety Development,
University of Arkansas, Division of Agriculture, Rice Research and Extension Center
(2nd Term, 2014-2016)

Dr. Stephen Smith
Iowa State University
(2nd Term, 2015-2017)

Dr. Mulumebet Worku
Professor/Biotechnologist, Dept. of Animal Sciences
North Carolina Agricultural and Technical State University
(2nd Term, 2014-2016)

General Public Members

Dr. Timothy Johnson
Seed Bank Manager for Seed Savers Exchange, Inc.

Terry Williams
Fisheries and Natural Resources Commissioner for the Tulalip Tribes.
(2nd Term, 2015-2017)

Matthew Dillon
Sr. Manager Agricultural Programs
Director of Seed Matters
Clif Bar & Company
(2nd Term, 2014-2016)

Ex-Officio Members

Dr. Peter Bretting
National Program Leader
Office of National Programs, for the
USDA - Agricultural Research Service.

Dr. Ernest Moniz (or) Designee
Secretary of Energy.

Dr. Francis Collins (or) Designee
Director of the National Institute of Health.

Dr. John Holdren (or) Designee
Director of the Office of Science and Technology Policy.

Dr. Simon Liu (or) Designee
Director of the National Agricultural Library.

Dr. Gary Pederson
Supervisory Geneticist
Plant Genetic Resources Conservation Unit, for the USDA-ARS.

Dr. France A. Cordova (or) Designee
Director of the National Science Foundation.

Dr. Catherine Woteki (or) Designee
Under Secretary for the USDA Research, Education, and Economics Mission Area and the USDA Chief Scientist.

Updated 24-Mar-2016
ARS Home | | Site Map | Policies and Links
FOIA | Accessibility Statement | Privacy Policy | Nondiscrimination Statement | Information Quality | | White House